Introducing the 2015 Asia Trail Masters!

Arief Wismoyono from Indonesia and Ma Yanxin from China are our first ever Asia Trail Masters. Both champions managed to hold on to their points lead in the final races of the season, and are well-deserved champions with two big race victories on the Asia Trail Master circuit during the year. 

The final two months of the inaugural series brought great action and changing fortunes for the series'  protagonists. The Bromo Tengger Semeru Ultra 100 miles race in East Java turned out to be the key to success for both Wismoyono and Ma Yanxin. Suffering from a knee injury, the Indonesian winner of Mount Rinjani Ultra (August) and MesaStila Peaks Challenge (October), had a very tough day in the lava fields to defend his points advantage in the ranking. In particular, India's Ullas Narayana, Norway's Jan Nilsen and his own compatriot Pramonosidi Wijanarko put up a major challenge. Aided by a few strong runners losing the right trail and Nilsen dropping out due to painful blisters, Wismoyono crossed the finish line in sixth place, which was just enough to stay ahead of race winner Narayana and claim the championship. 

After scoring in Dalian back in April, Shanghai resident Ma Yanxing grabbed her second 100km race win of the year in Dali, Yunnan at the very end of October, which placed her ahead of Mila Marlina in the women's ranking. Marlina tried to reverse the situation also in the Bromo race, but did not make it to the finish line and thus failed to score points. 

Arief Wismoyono and Ma Yanxing will receive their awards and prizes during Ultra Trail Hong Kong, the first race of the 2016 Asia Trail Master series from 19 to 21 February 2016. Next year's second edition promises to be at least as exciting with several new race entries and also in a few new destinations. We will also be celebrating the first Grandmasters, as a number of runners have already gathered 3 or 4 points out of the required 6. 

Stay tuned to our website, facebook and wechat channels to stay up to date for all news related to the 2016 Asia Trail Master series, including interviews with Arief Wismoyono and Ma Yanxing! 

Final ranking Men

Final ranking Women

Kris Van de VeldeComment